2021 AFCON Qualifiers: Rohr Recalls Musa, Omeruo, Akpeyi …Places Etebo, Balogun, Olayinka On Standby

Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has announced his squad for next month’s 2021 Africa Cup of Nations qualifying matches against Benin Republic and Lesotho.

In a press release by the Nigeria Football Federation on Wednesday, Ahmed Musa returned to the team after recovering from injury.

Also back in the team are Kenneth Omeruo, Mikel Agu and Daniel Akpeyi, who last featured in the team at the 2019 AFCON.

Ramon Azeez, who was called up for the friendly against Brazil returns, while regulars Alex Iwobi, Victor Osimhen, Samuel Chukwueze, Moses Simon and Samuel Kalu also made the team.

Rohr however, placed on standby the trio of Leon Balogun, Peter Olayinka and Oghenekaro Etebo.

Nigeria will start their 2021 AFCON qualifying campaign against Benin Republic on November 13, before flying to Maseru to play Lesotho on November 17.


Goalkeepers: Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs), Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Heartland), Maduka Okoye (Fortuna Dusseldorf)

Defender: Kenneth Omeruo (Leganes), Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor), Chidozie Awaziem (Leganes), William Ekong (Udinese), Olaoluwa Aina (Torino), Jamilu Collins (Padeborn), Semi Ajayi (West Brom), Bryan Idowu (Lokomotiv Moscow)

Midfielders: Alex Iwobi (Everton), Mikel Agu (Vitoria Guimaraes), Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester), Joe Aribo (Glasgow Rangers), Ramon Azeez (Granada)


Ahmed Musa (Al Nassr), Victor Osimhen (Lille); Moses Simon (Nantes), Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal); Paul Onuachu (Genk), Emmanuel Dennis (Club Brugge), Samuel Kalu (Bordeaux),

Standby: Leon Balogun (Brighton), Peter Olayinka (Slavia Prague), Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City).

Copyright PUNCH.

Recommend to friends
  • gplus
  • pinterest