Egypt declares curfew in Cairo, several provinces

CAIRO  (AFP) – Egypt’s government on Wednesday declared a curfew in Cairo and 10 other provinces in a bid to contain nationwide violence following a crackdown on supporters of ousted president Mohamed Morsi.

The curfew was to begin at 7:00 pm (1700 GMT), before sunset, and run until 6:00 am (0400 GMT), a government spokesman said in a statement read out on state television.

It applies to the provinces of Cairo, Giza, Alexandria, Beni Sueif, Menya, Assiut, Sohag, Beheira, North Sinai, South Sinai and Suez.

Related Articles

Back to top button