Breaking! Niyi Osoba Emerges Ogun Labour Party Boss

By Mobolaji Odunuga

Comrade Niyi Osoba has emerged the Ogun State Chairman of the Labour Party.

He was voted in as the State Chairman of the party on Wednesday, 26th March, 2014 by party delegates, who converged at the Centenary Hall, Ake, Abeokuta, Ogun state, southwest Nigeria, to choose the officers who will steer the ship of the party for the next three years as stipulated by the constitution of the party and directed by the national leadership of the party.

The event which was coordinated by the Deputy National Chairman of the party in the southwest, Hon Joseph Akinlaja and witnessed by the representatives of Independent Electoral Commission (INEC), officers of the Nigeria Police Force and the State Security Service (SSS) has thousands of party members present.

In his valedictory speech, the acting Chairman of the party in the state, Comrade John A.A. Laleye, appreciated the party’s national leadership for the opportunity given him to serve.

He noted that the task before the new executive is enormous as the main objective of the party in the state is Amosun Must Go (AMG).

Addressing the gathering, the Deputy National Chairman of the party for the southwest geo-political zone, Hon. Joseph Akinlaja, noted that the baton of leadership of the party has been given to the newly elected executive members who shall steer the affairs of the party as stipulated by its constitution.

“I am sure Labour Party will win the forth coming polls in the state going by the wide acceptance of the party by the people of Ogun State.

“This is the authentic Labour Party and no one can stop its movement, continue to organize without fear as the minority cannot defeat the majority,” he said.

The old executive council of the party was dissolved paving way for the emergence of a new one.

The newly elected executive council members are: Comrade Niyi  Osoba, State Chairman; Chief Nuru Olaleye, Deputy State Chairman; Mr Wasiu Agbetokun, Deputy State Chairman; Mr M. Aderopo, Deputy State Chairman; Comrade John A.A. Laleye, Deputy State Chairman; Comrade Samson Okusanya, Deputy State Chairman; Alhaja Rafatu Sanni, Deputy State Chairman; Hon. Dapo Adeyem, State Secretary; Mr Fatai Yinusa, Financial Secretary; Hon Deji Kalejaye, Public Relations Officer; Chief Gboyega Okenla, State Legal Adviser; and Mr Kelani Orisatolu, State Auditor.

Others are: Alhaja Mujidat Ogunnaike, State Woman Leader; Mrs Omolola Soyombo, State Deputy Woman Leader; Mrs Bosipo, State Deputy Woman Leader; Mrs Basirat Adeyemi, State Deputy Woman Leader; Hon Bankole Oyebode, State Youth Leader; Mrs Tope Obadina, State Assistant Youth Leader; Chief Layiwola Sobanjo, State Assistant Youth Leader; Comrade S.O Ayeni, State Assistant Youth Leader; and Comrade Michael Adegbola, State Organizing Secretary.

In his acceptance speech, the newly elected State Chairman of the party, Comrade Niyi Osoba, assured the party members that the executive shall collectively work vigorously with renewed zeal, drive, dynamism, determination, sincerity of purpose, uncommon courage, vision, sense of responsibility and above all the fear of God. To process and implement their duties, functions, policies and goals of the party as bestowed on them.

“For the avoidance of doubt, let it be clear and known as a fact that the primary and fundamental objective of Labour Party in Ogun state is the welfare and provision of good governance to the citizenry of Ogun State. And this can only be achieved through the execution of our popular policy known as Amosun Must Go,” he said.

Prior to his being elected as the Chairman of Labour Party in Ogun State, Comrade Niyi Osoba; has in the past served at various capacities, which include: Ogun State Chairman of Nigeria Union of Local Government Employees (NULGE), 1996-2000; Ogun State Chairman of Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) 1999-2003; Chairman, Western Zonal Councils of Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), comprising the ten states of the defunct Western Region; Consultant on Workers’ Welfare and Pension (Cabinet Rank) to Ogun state Governor, 2007-2011 and the Caretaker Chairman of Ijebu Ode Local Government Area of Ogun State between February and May 2011.

Related Articles

Back to top button