Oshoala, Oparanozie Make CAF Final Award List

The Confederation of African Football has announced candidates to win the prestigious individual trophy this year, with the Super Falcons duo making the final cut

Nigeria’s Desire Oparanozie and Asisat Oshoala have made the final shortlist for the 2014 African Women’s Footballer of the Year award with Cameroon’s Annette Ngo Ndom the third candidate to win the individual award.

Rivers Angels star Oshoala tops the list following her superb form for the Falconets at the Fifa U-20 Women’s World Cup and the African Women Championship in Namibia where she won the MVP award, not forgetting her Federation Cup and league title win with her Port Harcourt based outfit.

Oparanozie on her own part was inspirational in the Super Falcons’ march to becoming African champions for the seventh time while putting up a great showing for her French topflight outfit, Guingamp.

Oshoala could win a double she is also shortlisted for the Youth Player of the Year award alongside her Nigerian compatriot, Uchechi Sunday with Fabrice Ondoa of Cameroon making the list.

Nigeria’s Under-20 women’s national team, the Falconets, will also look to beat Cameroon and Ivory Coast for the National Team of the Year award for women.

The winners will be announced at the Glo-Caf Awards Gala scheduled for Thursday, January 8, 2015 in Lagos, Nigeria.

Women’s Player of the Year

Annette Ngo Ndom (Cameroon and Amazon Grimstad)

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Desire Oparanozie (Nigeria and Guingamp)

Youth Player of the Year

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria and River Angels)

Fabrice Ondoa (Cameroon and Barcelona)

Uchechi Sunday (Nigeria and River Angels)

Women’s National Team of the Year



Nigeria U-20

Related Articles

Back to top button