EFCC Warns Of Fake Letter Implicating APC Chieftains

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission on Friday alerted the public about a letter supposedly from the office of Brigadier General Jones Arogbofa, the Chief of Staff to President Goodluck Jonathan, mandating the commission to initiate discreet investigation against some prominent political figures in the country.

Most of those mentioned in the letter are chieftains of the All Progressives Congress.

This led to an alarm being sounded by the APC on the government in power seeking to use its presidential candidate, General Muhammadu Buhari, to witch hunt his own party chieftains.

But the EFCC in a statement on Friday by its spokesperson, Wilson Uwujaren, urged the public to discountenance the said letter as it was a forged document intended to mislead the people.

Uwujaren said the features of the letter are markedly different from that on a genuine letter from the office of the Chief of Staff to the president.

In the bid to douse the tension already created, the EFCC reproduced the fake letter alongside a copy of an authentic letter from Arogbofa’s office.

But before the clarification by the EFCC, the APC Presidential Campaign Organization had said the Peoples Democratic Party Federal Government was working extra hours to raise malicious charges against the leaders and suspected financiers of the APC using the EFCC in order to force Buhari to “try his own men” in a test of his bid to fight corruption without fear or favour.

A statement signed by the APCPCO Media Director, Garba Shehu, alerted that the Federal Government was planning to take advantage of a vow by General Buhari that if elected, he will not investigate the past, but that all ongoing cases, as he said, will be allowed to run through the courts without any hindrance.

Among those listed in the letter were former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar; Governor Rotimi Amaechi; Governor Adams Oshiomhole; Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu; Speaker of the House of Representatives, Aminu Tambuwal; and Governor Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of Kano State.

Others were Senator Danjuma Goje; Senator Bukola Saraki; Faruk Ahmed, the Executive Director of the PPPRA; Sulaiman Barau, a Deputy Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria; the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority, Habib Abdullahi; and the DG of the NCAA, Captain Mukhtar Usman.

The rest are the Managing Director of the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation, Umaru Ibrahim; Governor of Kwara State, Abdulfatah Ahmed; the Group Executive Director of the NNPC, Aisha Abdulraham; the governorship candidate of the APC in Taraba State, Senator Aisha Alhassan; the Peoples Democratic Movement candidate for Adamawa State governorship election, who was formerly the Executive Secretary of UBEC, Ahmed Modibbo; as well as the former Minister of Education, Prof. Ruqqayyatu Ahmed Rufa’i.

The letter-forwarding the list to the EFCC quoted the Chief of Staff as saying that he had been “directed by the C-in-C (President) to instruct your Agency to clandestinely investigate the personal and official finances” of the listed individuals.

Related Articles

Back to top button