Flying Eagles Coach Releases Provisional World Cup Squad

The Head Coach of the Nigeria U-20 team, Manu Garba, has officially released his provisional squad for the fast approaching FIFA U-20 World Cup billed to take place in New Zealand from May 30 to June 20, 2015.

Topping the list of 35 invited players to jostle for places in the final squad is Manchester City starlet, Kelechi Ihenacho.

Iheanacho who was conspicuously missing as the Flying Eagles conquered the continent at the last Africa Youth Championships, AYC
​,​ in Senegal will hope he could make the final roster for the FIFA U20 World Cup in New Zealand.

Other prominent members of the 2013 Golden Eaglets set that have been given the chance to stake a claim in the final squad that would be gunning for history in New Zealand include Success Isaac who plays with Granada in Spain and Chidebere Nwakali of Manchester City, England amongst others.

The Flying Eagles are in Group E where they are pitched alongside Brazil, Korea DPR and Hungary.

Nigeria have twice come close to landing the U20 World Cup, but on both occasions in 1989 and 2005 they fell short by losing the finals.

For now, only Ghana prides itself as the only country in Africa to win the FIFA U20 World Cup.

Full List

Goalkeepers: Adamu Abubakar (Flash FC); Dele Alampasu (Football College Academy); Joshua Enaholo (MFM FC); Olorunleke Ojo (Giwa FC)

Defenders: Musa Muhammed (FC Heart Academy); Saheed Abdul-Ganiyu (Ace Academy); Adebayo Ademilua (Nath Boys); Monsuru Bashiru (MFM FC); Zaharaddeen Bello (Dabo Babes Academy); Abdullahi Mustapaha (Spotlight FC); Wilfred Ndidi (KRC Genk, Belgium); Samuel Okon (Greater Tomorrow Academy); Prince Omego (Apapa Golden Stars); Rowland Silas (Airforce FC)

Midfielders: Abdullahi Alfa (Football College Academy); Bernard Bulbwa (Esperance FC, Tunisia); Akinjide Idowu (Nigeria Young Academy); Ifeanyi Ifeanyi (Water FC); Wasiu Jimoh (Kwara Academy); Ifeanyi Mathew (El-Kanemi Warriors); Chidebere Nwakali (Manchester City, England); Obinna Nwobodo (Enugu Rangers); Kingsley Sokari (Enyimba FC); Musa Yahaya (Tottenham Hotspurs, England)

Forwards: Alhassan Abdullahi (FC Heart); Taiwo Awoniyi (Imperial Academy); Chidera Ezeh (FC Porto, Portugal); Okechukwu Gabriel (Water FC); Saviour Godwin (FC Sports); Kelechi Iheanacho (Manchester City, England); Success Isaac (Granada FC, Spain); Billy Michael (El-Cruzeiro FC); Christian Pyagbara (Dolphins FC); Usman Sani Sale (Wikki Tourists); Moses Simon (Kaa Gent, Belgium)

Related Articles

Back to top button