El-Rufai Scrap Six Ministries In Kaduna

Governor Nasiru el-Rufai of Kaduna State has reduced the number of ministries in the state from 19 to 13 for effective service delivery.

The information is contained in a statement issued by the Special Assistant (Media and Publicity), Samuel Aruwan, in Kaduna on Tuesday.

The statement added that the governor also reduced the number of commissioners to be appointed to 13.

“Accordingly, the Kaduna State Government has announced the restructuring of its ministries from 19 to 13.

“This is intended to cut costs and efficiency to improve service delivery,” the statement added.

The statement said the development was in continuation of el-Rufai’s efforts to cut the cost of governance in the state.

“El-Rufai decided to reduce the number of commissioners to only 13, as against the 24 appointed by the immediate past administration.

“The governor will also limit the number of aides that the 13 commissioners will recruit to support them in the discharge of their duties,’’ it said.

According to the statement, Rufai has repeatedly stated that the state government must direct more of its resources to delivering public services that require a reduction in the proportion of government.

The new ministries will include ministries of Justice, Agriculture and Forestry, Commerce, Industry and Tourism.

Others are Local Government, Youth, Sports and Culture Ministry; Environment and Natural Resources; Women Affairs and Social Development; Ministry of Water Resources; Ministry of Health and Human Services; Ministry of Education, Science and Technology; Ministry of Budget and Planning; Ministry of Finance; and Ministry of Works, Housing and Transport.

Related Articles

Back to top button