Reps Speaker: Gbajabiamila Wins APC Primary

Information reaching The Eagle Online has it that the representative of Surulere 1 Federal Constituency, Hon. Femi Gbajabiamila, has emerged the winner of the primaries conducted by the All Progressives Congress for a consensus candidate for the speakership of the House of Representatives.

Gbajabiamila emerged on Saturday at the APC primaries in Abuja. He defeated Hon. Yakubu Dogara.

Dogara and his supporters were said to have staged a walk out from the venue of the primaries.

The candidates were, however, said to have signed an agreement before the election to abide by its outcome.

Gbajabiamila was said to have polled 160 votes out of the 182 accredited voters for the election.

The APC has 209 members in the 360-member House.

There had been concerns over the ability of the APC to have a unified voice when the election for the leadership of the National Assembly comes up on Tuesday.

The primaries for the presidency of the Senate is expected to come up later on Saturday (today).

Some have speculated the process will commence at 8pm.

The fight is expected to be a straight one between Senators Bukola Saraki and Ahmad Lawan.

Copyright The Eagle Online.

Related Articles

Back to top button