Lagos Lawmakers Set Up Committee To Investigate Femi Pedro’s Impeachment; Names Akeem Bello Minority Leader

The leadership of the Lagos State House of Assembly has constituted an Adhoc Committee to look into the circumstances leading to the impeachment of the former Deputy Governor of the state, Mr. Femi Pedro in May 2007, during the 5th Assembly.

The inauguration of the Committee is sequel to a letter of appeal written by Mr. Femi Pedro, which was read on the floor of the House by the Clerk. Mr. Olusegun Abiru

The letter had solicited for the withdrawal of the notice and consequent impeachment by the lawmakers of the 5th Assembly during Asiwaju Bola Tinubu administration in 2007.
The Speaker of the Assembly, Rt. Hon. Mudashiru Obasa while inaugurating the Committee, enjoined them to unravel circumstances leading to the impeachment of Mr. Pedro, while taking holistic approach by inviting the former Deputy Governor to hear his submission in the course of the Committee deliberations.

It would be recalled that Mr. Femi Pedro was impeached by members of the Lagos 5th Assembly, after impeachment notice was served on him.
The members of the adhoc committee include: Hon. Sanai Agunbiade, Majority Leader of the House, who will serve as Chairman. Other members of the committee are: Hon. Desmond Eliot; Hon. Jimi Muhammed; Hon. Olumuyiwa Jimoh, Deputy Majority Leader; Hon. Kazeem Alimi; Hon. Sokunle Olusola Hakeem; and Hon. Gbolahan Yishau.
The Committee is expected to report back after the House’s brief recess for Umrah pilgrimage.

Meanwhile, the People Democratic Party (PDP) caucus in the House has elected Honourable Akeem Bello, representing Amuwu Odofin State Constituency II as its Minority Leader, while Hon. Mosunmila Sangodara from Surulere State Constituency II is the new Minority Whip of the House.

Related Articles

Back to top button