FCT Polls: APC Wins Abaji, Bwari As INEC Declares Others Inconclusive

The candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC), Hon. Musa Dikko has been declared winner of the Bwari Area Council election. Dikko scored a total of 18,066 votes to defeat Hon Andrew Gwani of the Peoples Democratic Party who polled 13,279 votes. INEC returning officer, Abubakar Sadiq Abbah who announced the result said Dikko having polled the highest number of votes is elected as the chairman of the area council. While APC won 7 councillorship seats, PDP won 1.

In Abuja Municipal Area Council, the candidate of All Progressives Congress, (APC) in Abuja Municipal Area Council, AMAC, Hon. Abdullahi Adamu Candido polled a total of 26,602 votes to beat his closest challenger Hon. Bitrus Tanko of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, who scored 21,230 votes. Candido beat Tanko by 5,372 votes. However, the Returning Officer, Prof. Sunday Ododo has declared the election inconclusive. Ododo explained that the needed gap margin to declare the winner of the election must be more that the cancelled votes which is about 15,360, thereby declared the election inconclusive, that the commission will fix a day to conclude the election.

Gwagwalada Area Council results as announced by the returning officer, Dr. Adamu Tanimu showed that the incumbent chairman and candidate of  APC, Hon. Abubakar Giri scored 14546,  while the APGA candidate, Hon. Adamu Mustapha polled 15,272 votes,  and Abdullahi Umar of the PDP scored 6,082 votes. The election was also declared inconclusive. In the meantime, the All Progressive Grand Alliance (APGA) has rejected the decision of INEC to declare the election inconclusive. The chairman of the party in the area, Engr. Solomon Umezuirike stated this during a press conference in Gwagwalada. Umezuirike said that the returning officer, Tanimu had already declared the result before declaring the result inconclusive.

“The returning officer has told us that we are leading the APC with 726 votes. I don’t know why they will fix a date to announce the results. We do not accept it. In the pass election, PDP was edged out with just 94 votes. So why are they telling us this again?” he queried. Also speaking the candidate of the party in Gwagwalada, Alhaji Mustapha Adamu Denze stated that his party has won the election as the results were announced and signed by all the party agents. Members of APGA took to the streets to protest the pronouncement.

In Abaji, the APC candidate, Alhaji Abdulrahman Ajiya, scored 12, 792, while that of the incumbent chairman, Alhaji Yahaya Garba Gawu, of the PDP, polled 10, 076. Also the Returning Officer, Mr. Daniel Emanuel has declared the election inconclusive. The incumbent chairman of Abaji and PDP candidate, Alhaji Yahaya Garba alleged that the INEC manipulated the process in favour of the APC, saying, “There is connivance in this election because voters have been denied their franchise in some polling units.” APC candidate, Abdulrahman Ajiya expressed confidence in the exercise. He said the election process was peaceful.

In Kuje,  the chairmanship candidate on the platform of the APC, Hon. Abdulahi Galadiman got 13, 549 votes, while the candidate of the PDP, the incumbent chairman of the council, Hon. Shaban Tete got 11, 478 votes, with the APC having a margin of 2,071 votes against the PDP. APGA candidate, Hon. Haruna Esu polled 5515 votes

The returning officer, Dr. Nicolas Belikatu however declared the election inconclusive because the margin is not enough to declare the APC candidate winner of the election, since the votes cast were less than the registered voters who were 91, 145, accredited voters were 33, 354 and valid votes were 30, 606. The results of Kwali Area Council are still being expected as at the time of filing this report.

The tenure of the current chairmen and councillors expires on May 17, 2016.

Related Articles

Back to top button