Senate President Swears-in Tokunbo Abiru, Seriake Dickson, Two Other Senators-elect


President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, on Tuesday, 15 December, 2020 swore-in former Managing Director of Polaris Bank, Mukail Adetokunbo Abiru and ex-Governor of Bayelsa State, Seriake Dickson, as members of the Upper Legislative Chamber.
The two will represent Lagos East and Bayelsa West Senatorial Districts respectively in the Red Chamber. While Abiru is of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Dickson is coming in on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).
Others who were sworn-in are: Cleopas Moses (PDP – Bayelsa Central); and Nora Ladi Daduut (APC – Plateau South).
The lawmakers were sworn in at exactly 11:04am shortly after the commencement of plenary.
Two of the newly sworn-in lawmakers:  Adetokunbo Abiru and Nora Ladi Daduut replace the Late Senators Bayo Osinowo; and Ignatius Longjan who represented Lagos East and Plateau South before their demise in 2020 and 2019, respectively.
Abiru, born on March 25, 1964, served as the Group Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of Polaris Bank Limited until his resignation on August 24, 2020, to contest the Lagos East senatorial bye-election on the platform of the APC.
Abiru was also the Executive Director at First Bank Nigeria Ltd from 2013 to 2016, and served as the Commissioner of Finance, Lagos State, from 2011 to 2013 under the leadership of then Lagos Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN.
Professor Nora Daduut, born 10th May, 1953, until her election was the head of the French Department of the University of Jos.

Related Articles

Back to top button