APC, PDP National Assembly Primaries Results

The All Progressive Congress (APC) and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Sunday held primaries to select candidates for the National Assembly seats. Our reporters  across the country report on the outcome of the elections.


Orji, Abaribe, Ohuabunwa emerge winners

Abia state Governor , Chief Theodore Orji has won PDP Senatorial ticket for Abia Central.

Senator Enyii Abaribe and Mao Ohuabunwa also won the tickets for Abia South and Abia North respectively.

Announcing the result of the primary held at the Umuahia stadium, the returning officer, Chief Ndidi Okereke said that Governor Orji scored a total of 221 votes to emerge winner.

In Aba, the chairman of the electoral panel for Abia South Hon James Ochunkwo, announced that Senator Abaribe polled 169 votes to beat his closet rival, Mr Princewill Ojeh with two votes.

Mao Ohuabunwa a former member of the House of Representatives in the primary held at the Ohafia local government secretariat beat his closet rival, Chief David Ogba Onuoha  by 103 to 67 vote, while  the incumbent, Senator Uche Chukwumereije came a distant third with 21 votes.



Akpabio wins Senatorial ticket

Akwa Ibom State Governor, Godswill Akpabio has won the PDP ticket for the Ikot Ekpene senatorial district in the state.

With 423 votes, Akpabio floored two other opponents, Hon Ekperikpe Ekpo and Chief Inibehe Okorie who had none.

Incumbent Senator Etok withdrew from the race 30 minutes before the commencement of voting.

The Speaker of Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly, Sam Ikon, was among 10 aspirants chosen to fly the party’s flag in next year’s House of Representative election in the state.

In elections conducted in the 10 federal constituencies in the state delegates on Saturday, Mrs. Owodai Ekpotai also became the only woman to receive the party’s nomination as she beat others to clinch the
ticket for Eket Federal Constituency.

Others who got the party’s nomination include Mr. Mike Eyong for Uyo, Nse Ekpeyong for Oron, Emmanuel Akpan for Ikot Ekpene and Dr. Henry Henry for Itu/Ibiono Ibom Federal Constituency.

Meanwhile, a parallel congress convened by some aggrieved PDP delegates from Ikot Ekpene Federal Constituency has elected a former member of the House of Representatives, Mr. Patty  Ineme as the
party’s candidate for next year’s House of Representatives election.


Kashamu, Clark’s wife, win PDP tickets

Chairman, Organising and Mobilisation Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), Prince Buruji Kashamu, and wife of Chief Edwin Clark, Bisola Sodipo – Clark, have emerged winners of their party’s Senate tickets for Ogun East and Ogun Central.
In Ijebu Ode, venue of the PDP Senate primaries,  Kashamu contested against two other aspirants, Taiwo Akintan and Dayo Oriola,  while former governor Gbenga Daniel withdrew from the race earlier.
Kashamu polled 365 votes to clinch the ticket,  Oriola got four votes while Akintan scored zero vote.
But the primary for Ogun Central which was postponed till Tuesday following alleged violence at the venue, was later conducted on Saturday with Bisola Sodipo – Clark emerging winner. She defeated Lanre Lashe.

Kure, Aliyu and Agwara clinch Niger  PDP Senate tickets

Aliyu voting during the primaries  on Saturday

Senate Committee Chairman on Maritime Transport, Senator Zaynab Abdulkadir Kure on Saturday defeated the immediate past state chairman of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) Abdulraham Enagi to clinch the party’s ticket for Niger South Senatorial district.

She won by 328 votes while Enagi had eight votes .

In Niger East Senatorial primary, the State governor Dr. Mu’azu Babangida Aliyu  emerged victorious. He defeated Alhaji Adamu Idris Kuta with 281 votes against 86 votes to emerge the party standard bearer for Niger zone B senatorial election in 2015.

‪The only candidate for Niger North senatorial zone, Honourable Halidu Agwara, a one time chairman, Agwara local government was returned unopposed.

Senate: Ex-Rep member, Saraki’s aide, emerge Kwara PDP candidates

Former member of the House of Representatives, Alhaji Yinusa Yahaya has emerged the Kwara North Senatorial candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Alhaji Yahaya polled 108 votes to beat his closest rival,  Manzuma Mommoh who polled 101 votes at the primaries conducted in Bode-Saadu, Moro local government area of the state.

Former  security adviser to former governor Bukola Saraki, Alhaji Yinka Aluko won the Kwara central ticket, polling 83 votes. His opponent and businessman, Alhaji Abdulrahaman Abdulrazak garnered 81 votes.

In Kwara south,  veteran politician and 2011 Kwara south senatorial candidate of the Allied Congress Party of Nigeria (ACPN), Lola Ashiru beat four others to emerge as the flag bearer of the party. Mr. Ashiru, an architect polled 132 votes

Jang, Dariye emerge winners

Plateau State governor, Jonah Jang has won the Peoples Democratic Party ( PDP) ticket for Plateau North Senatorial primaries held on Sunday.
Gov Jang polled 273 votes to defeat his closest and only opponent, Ambassador Ibrahim Kassai who had  18 votes.
In Plateau Central Senatorial Zone, incumbent Senator Joshua Dariye got the majority votes from the 262 .
Dariye polled 104, Hon Emmanuel Goar had  46 votes, Alexander Molwus, 84 votes and Satti Gogwim 12 votes.

Kwara Speaker, ex-minister, others emerge as APC Reps candidates

‪Speaker of the Kwara state House of Assembly, Razak Atunwa and former minister of state for Health, Princess Funke Adedoyin on Saturday emerged as the All Progressives Congress (APC)’s National Assembly candidates for the 2015 general elections.

Atunwa and Adedoyin are to represent Asa/Ilorin West and Irepodun/Isin/Oke-Ero in Kwara state.

The Speaker who was the sole candidate polled 1,545 votes to emerge the flag bearer of the party in the primary supervised by the INEC officials and five Man team of the APC from the National Headquarters led by Chief. Harry Osha.

Other members of the House of Reps that were returned unopposed include the House Reps Committee chair on media, Alhaji Zakari Mohammed representing Kaiama/Baruten and Ahman Patigi representing Edu/Patigi/Moro federal constituencies.

Other APC House of Reps candidates are a serving member of the state House of Assembly and Commissioner for Works and Transport, Tope Olayonu and Dr Abubakar Kaninke. They are to represent Offa/Oyun/Ifel

Ex-NLC VP wins APC Rep ticket , Senator looses seat

All Progressives Congress (APC) primaries in Edo Central was  successfully conducted on Sunday across the district.

Mr Irabor Onikolease, a former Vice President of the NLC won  the Esan North East/ Esan South East Federal Constituency.

He defeated the state commissioner of Energy and Water Resources, Mr Chris Ebare to clench the ticket.

The Senate Vice Chairman on Commerce, Mr Odion Ugbesia on Sunday lost his bid to return to the senate.

Ugbesia who is the senator representing Edo Central lost to his opponent, Mr Cliffors Ordia by 141 votes to 62 votes.

Ugbesia who is of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has been a senator since 2007.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker