Brazil 2014: Netherlands Top Group B, Spain Win Final Game

The Netherlands won Group B of the 2014 FIFA World Cup Monday after goals from Leroy Fer and Memphis Depay gave them a 2-0 win over Chile in Sao Paulo.

Both teams had already qualified for the second round after starting with wins over Spain and Australia, but this never stopped the game from being a tempestuous encounter.

Fer headed in with his first touch in the 77th minute, before Depay tapped home in the last minute.

In the group’s other game played simultaneously, reigning champions Spain avoided the ignominy of finishing their World Cup campaign bottom of Group B with a 3-0 defeat of Australia in Curitiba.

Goals from David Villa, Fernando Torres and Juan Mata prevented the 2010 winners from suffering a third successive loss for the first time since 1991.

Villa scored the opener when he flicked in Juanfran’s cross, before Torres fired in the second, while Mata slid in the third from fellow substitute Cesc Fabregas’s lofted pass.

The results meant The Netherlands finished first, with Chile in second place, Spain in third place and Australia in fourth place.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker