Breaking! Gbajabiamila Loses Reps Speakership By Eight Votes

Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila from the Surulere Federal Constituency 1 lost his aspiration to become the Speaker of the House of Representatives on Tuesday, 9th June, 2015.

In the keenly contested election which took place at the Green Chamber of the National Assembly, Gbajabiamila lost to another All Progressives Congress (APC) member from Bauch State, Honourable Yakubu Dogara by just eight votes.

The new Speaker is representing Bogoro/Dass/Tafawa Balewa Federal Constituency of Bauchi State.

In the election, Gbajabiamila polled 174 votes while his opponent, Dogara polled 182 votes out of the 360 votes cast during the election. Two votes were voided.

Dogara was immediately sworn-in as the new Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker