Buhari’s Victory, God-ordained; Not Man-made – Aregbesola; Osun Monarch Greets Colleagues Who Refused GEJ’s Dollars

The Governor of Osun State, Ogbeni Rauf Aregbesola on Monday, 6th April, 2015 said the victory of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and that of Alhaji Muhammadu Buhari at the just concluded presidential election should be ascribed to God and not any single individual.
Aregbesola in a statement by the Director Bureau of Communication and Strategy Mr. Semiu Okanlawon, was quoted as speaking when a group of royal fathers paid him a courtesy visit at the Government House in Osogbo the state capital.
‎The royal fathers of Osun commended some of the monarchs who refused to be tempted by the alleged last minute distribution of foreign currencies by the ruling party to sway votes for its candidate.
The group of traditional rulers was led by the Akinrun of Ikirun, Oba Abdul Rauf Adedeji to the Government House to congratulate Aregbesola and offer prayers on the victory of APC and its candidate at the last presidential election.
Aregbesola stated that no man on earth should ascribe the success and the outcome of the election to himself, but all praises to the Lord who in His infinite mercies granted Nigeria a peaceful election.
He noted that there is nothing new that the Progressives have done this time that is better than what the late sage, Chief Obafemi Awolowo and the acclaimed winner of the 1993 presidential election, Late Chief Moshood Kasimawo Abiola, did.
According to him, “sixty-three years ago, politicians who were of the view of a political climate that will give life abundantly to the people did all they could but they were unable to achieve their desire. Despite all their struggle and the will to give a better leadership could not make it to the presidency.
“After the first attempt by Obafemi Awolowo and others came the advent of Moshood Abiola when Nigerian voted and he won but never become the president of the country. Here we are today, the victory is still looking to me as a dream. All the glory ‎must be given to the Lord”.
The governor commended the doggedness and the fighting spirit of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu; and the former Governor of Osun State, Chief Bisi Akande at ensuring that the Yoruba get their votes for a central government for the first time in 63 years.
He also congratulated governors of APC, both serving‎ and former saying after God, APC leaders in all the states of the federation and party faithful deserve commendation.
Aregbesola charged traditional rulers in Yorubaland to take seriously the development of their areas, noting that God has endowed them with the power to make sure that they at all time seek the development of their God’s given domains.
He said, “I am particularly happy that the Yoruba is no longer in the opposition. This is the first time in 63 years that this is happening in the history of Nigeria.
“No Yoruba born or alive in this dispensation should not be happy. It is the first time that Yoruba will have a government that the majority of the people wanted. I will only pray that God will make this government have impact on our region.
“I charge all of us in the southwest and Nigerians alike to make sure that we get it right this time”.
Speaking earlier, the Aragbiji of Iragbiji, Oba Abul-Rasheed Olabomi congratulated Osun indigenes and Nigerians on the victory of APC and Gen. Muhammadu Buhari praying that the much awaited change will come to people in no distant time.
The monarch who spoke on behalf of all the monarchs also congratulated their colleagues who refused to be induced by the “hard currencies” distributed to some by the ruling party before the elections.
He expressed delight that the prediction of Chief Obafemi Awolowo that Nigeria will be better of when the finest of the Progressives of the Northern part of Nigeria come together with the Yoruba has come to fulfilment.
“This is the first time in the history of our nation where the general wish of the Yoruba will come to pass in terms of selecting for Nigeria. I want to use this opportunity to say a big congratulation to the Yorubaland”.
The royal fathers in attendance included: Olobu of Ilobu, Oba Asiru Olatoye Olaniyan; Akinrun of Ikirun, Oba AbdulRauf Adedeji; Elerin of Erin-Osun, Oba Yusuf Omoloye; Olunisa of Inisa, Oba Oladunjoye Oyedele; and Olokuku of Okuku, Oba Abioye Oyebode.
Others are: Oloyan of Oyan, Oba Kilani Adekeye; Obajio of Moore Ile-Ife, Oba Yaya Olugbaju; Onirun of Okeirun, Oba Isaac Adetoyi Adetunlurese; Eleko Ende of Eko-Ende, Oba Rauf Adebayo; and Oloosi of Osi. Oba Solomon Ademakinwa; among others.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker