Court Restrains Police, DSS, PDP from Arresting Osun APC Chieftains

An Osun State High Court sitting in Ile-Ife on Friday, 8th August, 2014 restrained security operatives in the country from arresting and witch-hunting leaders of the All Progressive Congress (APC) in the state.

Justice A. Abdulkareem while granting the application of the leadership of the APC in suit number HIF/M.32/2014 against the inspector General of Police, Assistant Inspector General Zone XI, Director General of Directorate of Security Service (DSS), the Commissioner of Police, Osun State Command and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state, affirmed that there is urgent need to grant the prayer of the applicants, having carefully examined the evidence attached to the application.

The judge disclosed that any delay in granting the said application would amount to injustice or defeat the end of justice.

The respondents, according to the ruling, are restricted against arresting, threatening or intimidating the following persons: Senator Isiaka Adeleke, Alhaji Moshood Adeoti, Mr Gbenga Adebusuyi, Barrister Wale Afolabi, Mr Sunday Akere, Dr. Wale Bolorunduro and Senator Bayo Salami.

Among those restricted from being arrested including the federal lawmakers from the state among whom are: Senator Babajide Omoworare, Senator (Professor) Olusola Adeyeye, Senator Mudasiru Hussein, Honourables Rotimi Makinde, Adetunji Ajagbe, Lasun Yusuf, Kayode Salami, Barrister Waliu Salimoni, Dr. Joel Olasunkanmi Anwo and Senator Felix Ogunwale.   

Similarly in the list are: Mr. Kunle Ige, Barrister Ajibola Basiru, Barrister Kolapo Alimi, Alhaji Fatai Diekola, Mr. Adekunle Amos, Mr. Layiwola Oyeduntan, Mr. Bisi Odewumi, Engineer Oladepo Amudah, Mr. Muyiwa Ige, Prince Gboyega Famodun, Barrister Jimoh Akano, Mr. Kunle Oyatomi and the APC state chairman, Elder Adelowo Adebiyi.

Others are: Mr. Sikiru Ayedun, Mr. Mudashiru Toogun, Comrade Biyi Odunlade, Mr. Segun Omoworare, Mr Festus Agunbiade, Mr. Bosun Oyintiloye, Otunba Jumoke Ogunkeyede, Alhaji Tijani Oladosu, Mrs Tawa Williams, Mr. Sola Oladepo and Barrister T.S. Adegboyega.

The aforementioned persons sued the respondents on behalf of themselves and other leaders of the party in the state and sought the order of the court restraining the respondent or its representatives or agents from inviting or threatening them pending the conduct of Saturday gubernatorial poll in the state.    

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker