Earthquake In Osun PDP: Dep Chair, Secretary, Four Others Expelled

By Timothy Agbor, Osogbo

The leadership crisis rocking the Osun State chapter of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP) took a serious dimension on Monday, 14th July, 2014 as six chieftains were expelled from the party.

According to a statement issued and signed by the party’s Publicity Secretary in the state, Hon. Bola Ajao, those who suffered the expulsion are: the state Deputy Chairman of the party, Barrister Bashiru Salam; former Secretary, Mr. Yinka Adeojo; current Secretary, Major Raphael Towobola (rtd); Mr. Teslim Igbalaye; Alhaji Rasaq Oyetunji; and Mr. Rasaq Oyelami.

The statement said that the expelled party chieftains were expelled over alleged anti-party activities and the decision to expel them was taken at the state Working Committee meeting of the party.

But in a swift reaction, the current Secretary of the party, Mr. Raphael Towobola said the purported expulsion was the joke of the year which cannot stand.

He explained that the purported expulsion was carried out because of his insistence that since 10th March, 2014 when he challenged his suspension from the party at the PDP’s National Secretariat and that a disciplinary committee was going to be set up to investigate him, nothing has happened since then.

Towobola noted further that the purported expulsion was the grand design of the state Chairman of the party, Alhaji Ganiyu Olaoluwa to take over his office.

He declared that all those allegedly expelled along with him have written to the party of their intention to dump the party for another.
Towobola claimed that he is educated and sophisticated enough not to allow his name to be soiled by the Ganiyu Olaoluwa led PDP exco adding that he will take necessary action at the party level to challenge the matter.

He said that he remains the Secretary and bonafide member of the party.

Also reacting to the expulsion, Mr. Teslim Igbalaye said he was expelled because he belonged to the Olagunsoye Oyinlola camp.

The motion to expel the affected leaders was moved by the Youth Leader of the party, Mr Benson Adegbola and seconded by the Treasurer, Mr. Adesoye Oyetunde.

The state Women Leader of the party, Mrs. Mary Anjorin, also moved a motion that board offices occupied by the expelled members should be given to faithful members. Mr Kola Adewusi seconded the second motion.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker