Ekiti Names Additional 18 Council Development Areas, Secretariats

Ekiti State Government is set to create additional 18 Council Development Areas based on the recommendations of the White Paper Committee set up by the government.

The new council areas are to be created from the existing 16 local government areas of the state after the conduct of a referendum by the State Independent Electoral Commission (SIEC) and consideration of the outcome of the referendum by the Ekiti State House of Assembly.

In a statement by the Commissioner for Information and Civic Orientation, Mr Tayo Ekundayo, the 18 new council areas are to operate as Local Council Development Areas (LCDAs) pending the concurrence of the National Assembly, which would accord them the status of full fledged local government councils.

The new councils and their proposed headquarters as contained in the White Paper and approved by the State Executive Council are as follows:
Ado West Local Council Development Area, Okesha; Ado-North LCDA, Oke –Ila; Ado-Central LCDA, Ijigbo; Ekiti North-East LCDA, Kota- Ekiti; Ogotun/Igbaraodo LCDA, Oke- Agbe; Osi/Isokan LCDA, Ifaki; Eka Meta LCDA, Erijiyan- Ekiti; Okemesi/Ido Ile LCDA, Okemesi-Ekiti; Gbonyin LCDA, Aisegba; Irewolede LCDA, Iloro- Ekiti; Irede LCDA,  Ipoti-Ekiti; Ikere West  LCDA, Anaye; Ajoni LCDA, Aiyedun; Ifelodun LCDA, Igbemo–Ekiti; Araromi LCDA, Iyin–Ekiti; Ero LCDA, Igogo; Ifesowapo LCDA, Bamisile Land; and Ifeloju LCDA, Ilupeju- Ekiti

Related Articles

Check Also
Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker