Ekiti Raises Panel For Science Education Transformation Framework

Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi, flanked by his deputy, Prof Modupe Adelabu (left) and Secretary to the State Government (SSG), Dr. Ganiyu at the inauguration of the Committee on Ekiti State Integrated Science & Technology Transformation Framework and Roadmap by the governor at the Executive Council Chamber, Governor’s Office, Ado-Ekiti…yesterday. 

A 12-member committee has been raised to review the education policy of Ekiti State on Science and Technology and develop a comprehensive framework for its transformation into a knowledge economy.

The panel – Committee on Ekiti State Integrated Science &Technology Transformation Framework and Roadmap – chaired by state Deputy Governor, Prof Modupe Adelabu, was inaugurated on Tuesday, 6th May, 2013 by Governor Kayode Fayemi.

According to him, the inauguration became imperative in recognition of science and technology as critical elements for the transformation of the state economy.

His words: “The challenge of science and technology education therefore is to reform, create and develop a system that prepares the individual to work in a borderless economy and live in a global society.

The governor reaffirmed his administration’s commitment to jump-start the economic and industrial development of the Land of Honour State, using science and technology as the tools.

“We are therefore committed to converting our brain into brawn for our people by accelerating development, skipping less-efficient routes and moving directly to more advanced stages of a knowledge-based economy,” the governor said, even as he noted that his administration has taken some initiatives in education, Information and Communication Technology (ICT) and vocational skills development.

The committee which was given three months to complete its assignment has as members: Mr Debo Ajayi, Dr. Eniola Ajayi, Mr Kehinde Ojo, Mr Kayode Jegede, Mr Segun Ologunleko, Prof Oye Bandele, Prof Aribisala, Prof Aderibigbe, Prof Ogunlade, Ms Tosin Otitoju and Alhaji Ibrahim Gani, who serves as committee secretary.

Among other tasks, members of the committee have a mandate to: evaluate and analyse the current state and strategic objective of science and technology education at primary, secondary and tertiary levels; evaluate and analyse the current application of the outcomes of science and technology education; study the strategic objectives and goals of Ekiti Knowledge Zone initiatives; study nations and sub-nations that have successfully leveraged science and technology for societal transformation and development; review the institutional framework for science and technology training and education at the tertiary level in the state; and make Ekiti the go-to hub for science and technology-based skills and sevices.

Responding, Prof Adelabu assured that members of the committee will come up with recommendations that will enlist Ekiti on the world map of technology.

Mrs. Adelabu charged members to equip themselves with the materials on best practices in science and technology ahead of the committee’s next meeting.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker