Fayose’s Candidates Win PDP Primaries In Ekiti

Aspirants believed to have been anointed by Governor Ayo Fayose have won the Peoples Democratic Party’s (PDP’s) House of Representatives and senatorial primaries in Ekiti State.

At the Ekiti North Senatorial primary election in Ido-Ekiti, former House of Representatives member Mr. Duro Faseyi defeated Senator Otunba Ayo Arise to win the ticket.

Faseyi, who represented Ekiti North 2 Federal Constituency in the Green Chamber between 2003 and 2011, is an ally of Fayose.

Former Deputy Governor Mrs. Abiodun Olujimi won the Ekiti South  Senatorial ticket conducted in Ikere-Ekiti, beating the former senator who represented the zone between 2007 and 2011, Chief Sola Akinyede, to the ticket.

Olujimi,  a board member of the Nigeria Communications Commission (NCC), was deputy governor to Fayose between October 2005 and October 2006.

Another former House of Representatives member Mrs. Fatimat Raji-Rasaki beat former Senator Bode Ola and former General Secretary of the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA), Mr. Obafemi Adewale, to win the PDP senatorial ticket for Ekiti Central Senatorial District at the election in Ado-Ekiti.

The result did not go down well with delegates from Ijero axis of the senatorial district, who were pushing for Adewale’s candidacy since the area has not produced a senator since 1999, unlike Efon, Ado-Ekiti/Irepodun/Ifelodun and Ekiti West, that had done that in the past.

All the three senatorial candidates of the PDP are allies of Fayose

This is the first time in the history of the state that a party would produce two female senatorial candidates.

In the House of Representatives primaries, aspirants enjoying the backing of Fayose swept to victory.

Those who won include three former council chairmen who served during Fayose’s first tenure in office.

They are former Chairman of Ido/Osi Local Government, Chief Thaddeus Aina; who clinched the PDP ticket for Ekiti North 2 Federal Constituency; and former Chairman of Ikole Local Government, Mr. Kehinde Agboola; who was declared winner of the ticket for Ekiti North 1 Federal Constituency.

Former Chairman of Gbonyin Local Government, Mr. Akin Awodumila, was returned winner of Ekiti South 2 Federal Constituency while Mr. Segun Adekola won in Ekiti South 1.

The result from Ekiti Central 1 returned Mr. Ayodeji Oladimeji as winner while to the PDP ticket for Ekiti Central 2 was won by Mr. Olamide Oni.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker