Just In! 19 APC Lawmakers Serve Impeachment Notice On Fayose

As a prelude to commencing an impeachment process against Ekiti State Governor, Peter Ayodele Fayose, the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Dr Adewale Omirin,  has forwarded a notice of gross misconduct to the embattled governor.

Fayose has been in the news for all the wrong reasons, including impunity, brigandage, stalking and other constitutional breaches.

According to the letter titled Re: Notice of Allegations of Gross Misconduct sent to Fayose and signed by the 19 All Progressives Congress (APC) legislators of the Assembly, eight impeachable allegations have been levied against the governor.

These include: invasion of the House of Assembly with thugs and micreants; instigating an unconstitutional take over of the House by seven legislators to sit in contravention of Section 96(2) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, prevention of the 19 APC legislative members from performing legislative duties with the use of security agents and armed thugs; and sponsoring an unlawful impeachment process in the Assembly

Other allegations listed in the notice are: spending Ekiti State funds without the requisite constitutional approval in contravention of the constitution; running the government of Ekiti State withiot legally constituted Executive Council in contravention of Section 192(2) of the Federal Republic of Nigeria; operating an illegal 2014 Budget; as well as sponsoring  and instigating illegal sitting of the House in contravention of Section 96(1) of the Constitution.
Fayose who had since received the notice was given seven days to respond to the allegations.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker