Lagos Adopts Uniformed Certificates For Primary School Leavers

Lagos State has introduced a uniformed attestation/testimonial for primary six pupils in both public and private primary schools in the state to be issued upon completion of primary six education, the state Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Olayinka Oladunjoye has disclosed.

Oladunjoye who said this in Lagos, on Monday, 2nd March, 2015 at the presentation of the attestation/testimonial to some selected schools explained that the exercise is aimed at entrenching the policy of making pupils complete pry six education in the state.

The Commissioner noted that the introduction of the attestation/testimonial will also help to address the needs of many pry school leavers who more often than not usually requires one form of certification or the other.

The Commissioner stated, “this policy of the issuance of the certificate to primary schools leavers upon completion of primary six education in Lagos State is part of the ongoing reforms of the state. It is my conviction that pupils must have completed primary six before going into secondary school and it is not right for pupils to go through primary 1-6 without any form of certification at the end of the education.”

Mrs. Oladunjoye charged Head teachers of Primary Schools in the State to take the well-being of the pupil in their care as a special assignment adding that they should also inculcate in them good societal values since they are susceptible and easily influenced.

She congratulated the first beneficiaries of the attestation exercise which is the first of its kind in the country and has the pictures of each holder embossed on it stressing that pupils will no doubts be happy that they now have an evidence of completion of primary school education.

Some of the schools that collected their certificates from the Commissioner include Dopemu Primary School; Divine Touch Nursery/Primary School; Dairy Farm Primary School; Ahmed Memorial Primary School; Abiks Private Nursery/Primary School all in Agege; Surulere Community Primary School; African Church Primary School, Mosan; Akowonjo Primary School; Abule Egba Community Primary School; and NASFAT Nursery/Primary School.

Others are Vetland Primary School; New Oko-Oba Primary School; Home Science Nursery/Primary School; Damiland Nursery/Primary School; African Church Primary School; St Peter’s Anglican Primary School; Rahmat Islamyat Nursery/Primary School; Police Children Nursery/Primary School; Lagos State Primary Education Board Model Nursery/Primary School and Anifowose Primary School, Ikeja.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker