Lagos Approves 29 New Schools, Warns Against Examination Malpractices

Lagos State Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Olayinka Oladunjoye has enjoined proprietors of private schools in the state not to aid and condone examination malpractices in their schools.

Oladunjoye who disclosed this in Lagos at the weekend at the handing over of letters of approval to proprietors of 29 newly approved schools in the state explained that examination malpractice destroys the lives of students as it gives them a false impression of their academic capabilities.

The Commissioner pointed out that many a time students who engaged in examination malpractice to obtain excellent results in their West African Examination Council (WAEC) results find it difficult to cope at higher level adding that if proprietors of private schools do not aid them in examination malpractice they (the students) would be self actualized.

“Let me urge you not to allow your schools to be used to perpetrate examination malpractices. Let me assure you that if you aid your students to perpetrate examination malpractice because you want your schools to be associated with success, then you are not helping the students rather you are destroying their lives as it will give them false impression about their academic performance,” she said.

Oladunjoye implored the proprietors of the newly approved schools to adhere strictly to government’s policies and regulations guiding their operations just as she urged them to always pay their taxes and rates as at when due.

While congratulating them for scaling the stringent pre-requisite measures before their approval, the Commissioner stressed the need for them to allow their primary schools pupils to finish Pry Six class before registering them for the screening test for the model colleges’ examination or placement tests for other public secondary schools.

She also emphasised the need for JSS III students to write and pass the Basic Education Certificate Examination (BECE) before they could be promoted and admitted into the senior secondary schools.

The 29 newly approved schools include 16 secondary schools and 13 primary schools.
They are: Unique Friends Nursery/Primary School; Kayron International Nursery/Primary School; Cornel Holy Child School; Standard Foundation College; Tedoway College; Florida Comprehensive College; Uncle Bayus College; Ever Sure Nursery/Primary School; Central Baptist Church School; Success Vision Foundation; Will B Secondary School; Helen Queensley College; Grace Springs College; Lily Pride Comprehensive College; and Great Everlee College.

Others are: Beulah Comprehensive College; Royal Ambassador College; Bolu Generation Private School; Brooks Montessori School; Bigga Nursery/Primary School; Promise College; Sam Unique College; ATSA Nursery/Primary School; Brightfield College; Lutron Primary School; SODIMM Nursery/Primary School; Honey Home Children’s School; CR Victors School; and El-Elyon Learning Ville Nursery/Primary School.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker