Lagos Instals Laboratories In 32 Public Schools; Restates Commitment To Infrastructure Provision

Lagos State Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Olayinka Oladunjoye (2nd right), her Information & Strategy counterpart, Mr. Lateef Ibirogba (right),  the Special Adviser to the Governor on Education, Otunba Fatai Olukoga (2nd left) and the Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education, Mrs. Omolara Erogbogbo (left) during the 2015 Ministerial press briefing in commemoration of the 4th year of the Second term in Office of Governor Babatunde Fashola, SAN, at the Bagauda Kaltho Press Centre, the Secretariat, Alausa, Ikeja, on Tuesday, May 05, 2015.

Lagos State Government has said that the provision of infrastructure in its schools will continue to be of utmost importance as quality teaching and learning can only be attained in a conducive atmosphere.

This assurance was given by the state Commissioner for Education, Mrs. Olayinka Oladunjoye on Tuesday, 5th May, 2015 at the 2015 ministerial press briefing in commemoration of the 8th year in office of the state Governor, Mr. Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN.

She stated that in furtherance of this resolve, 32 public secondary schools across the state have been installed with three standard Science laboratories each.

She listed the schools as including: Ifelodun Senior High School, Oke-Agbo, Ikorodu; Community Senior Grammar School, Gberigbe, Ikorodu; United Senior High School, Ikorodu; Ayangburen Senior High School, Ikorodu; Oriwu Senior Model College, Igbogbo, Ikorodu; Ikotun Senior Grammar School, Ikotun; Matori Senior Grammar School, Okota; Metropolitan Senior College, Isolo; Unity Senior High School, Oshodi; Ewutuntun Senior Grammar School, Oshodi; Mafoluku Senior Grammar School, Mafoluku; St Joseph Senior Secondary School, Mushin; Euba Senior Secondary School, Mushin; Ijeshatedo Senior Secondary School, Sanya; Ideal Girls Senior High School, Randle, Surulere; AUD Senior High School. Falolu, Surulere; Reri Community Senior Secondary School, Oreta, Ikorodu and Eva Adelaja Senior Secondary School, Bariga.

Others according to her are: Okesuna Senior High School, Lagos Island; Ilado Community Senior High School, Osborne, Ikoyi; Community Senior High School, Magbon Segun, Ibeju; Government Senior Secondary School, Takwa Bay; Iwerekun Community Senior High School, Lakowe; Okun Ajah Senior Secondary School, Okun Ajah; Eti-Osa Community Senior High School, Sangotedo; Lagos State Senior Model College, Badore, Ajah; Egan Senior High School, Ojo; Oluwa Memorial Senior Secondary School, Tolu; Agboju Senior Secondary School, Agboju; Festac Senior College, Festac Town, Amuwo Odofin; Meiran Community Senior High School, Meiran and Oregun Senior High School, Oregun, Ikeja.

The Commissioner pointed out that four hundred teachers have also been trained in ICT Curriculum just as Mathematics trainings/clinics were held for fourteen teachers across the six Education Districts in the State on modern and innovative techniques of teaching mathematics at the National Mathematics Centre (NMC), Kwali, Abuja.

She stated further that, “this clinic/training has since been cascaded to other teachers in the State as such another 442 Mathematics teachers were trained in the process. Let me stress that this was part of government’s on-going effort to improve the teaching and learning of Mathematics in Schools with a view to achieving improved performances in internal and external examinations.”

According to the Commissioner, four new secondary schools namely Sango Junior Secondary School (Inclusive), Agege; Ajara Comprehensive Senior Secondary School, Ajara-Topa; Community Senior Secondary School, Orisumbare, Ayobo, Alimosho; District Senior College, Meiran, Alimosho were also established within the last one year to cater for the demands for secondary education in the areas while 10,000 pairs of all wood dual desks and benches were procured for public secondary schools.

“I wish to report that we have also rehabilitated the hostel block at Lagos State Civil Service Junior Model College, Igbogbo, Ikorodu; constructed a new boys’ hostel for Badagry Senior Grammar School, Badagry; a building that was burnt beyond repairs as well as the fences in 13 schools namely Iju Grammar School, Iju;  Iloro Junior Grammar School, Agege; Civil Service Senior Model College, Igbogbo, Ikorodu; Ajayi Crowther Memorial Senior Grammar School, Bariga;  Topo Senior Grammar School, Badagry;  AUD Grammar School, Badagry; Abesan Senior High School, Ipaja; Vetland Grammar School, Ifako Ijaiye; Community Senior Secondary School, Bayeku, Ikorodu; Pobuna Senior Grammar School, Poka, Epe; Molajoye Senior High School, Epe; Omole Senior Grammar School, Ikeja and llupeju Grammar School, Mushin,” Oladunjoye noted.

She explained that the re-roofing and re-ceiling of 13 schools including Igando Community Senior High School; Ajegunle Senior High School, Ketu, Kosofe Junior College, Herbert Macaulay Junior Grammar School and Aje Comprehensive Junior High School, Sabo Yaba among other damaged by rainstorm have been done while 456 classrooms in 28 Schools have also been rehabilitated.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker