No More Admission For Mass Communication Degree In Nigerian Universities

•By Dare Ojelade

Mass Communication will cease to be a course offered in Nigerian universities as from this year.

Instead the course has now been split into seven different courses for students to study.

The seven new courses are: Journalism and Media Studies, Public Relations, Advertising, Broadcasting, Film and Multimedia Studies, Development Communication Studies and Information and Media Studies.

The Federal agency in charge of administration of universities in the country,
the National Universities Commission (NUC) said it has unbundled the hitherto Mass Communication degree into seven separate degree programmes to meet present demand.

According to NUC Executive Secretary, Prof. Abubakar Rasheed, as from the 2020 admission year, Mass Communication will cease to exist as the seven different departments it has been split into will commence operation.

Recall that professors, professionals and practitioners of communication in Nigeria had presented new communication curricula to National Universities Commission (NUC) seeking the unbundling of mass communication into seven departments.

The NUC had approved the Curriculum which resulted in the emergence of seven degree-awarding programmes and the phasing out of the single BSc/BA Degree Programme in Mass Communication currently offered in different Faculties in different universities.

The seven new Programmes/Departments are to be domiciled in a Faculty / School / College of Communication and Media Studies of the various universities in the country offering the course.

Copyright: The Gazelle

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker