Osun Poll: Omisore Kicks As INEC Declares Aregbesola Winner

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate in Osun State, Senator Iyiola Omisore, has protested the result as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) which gave victory to the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate Raufu Aregbesola.

According to the announced results by the Returning Officer, who is also the Vice Chancellor Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) Ile-Ife, Professor Bamitale Omole, Aregbesola won in 22 local governments against Senator Omisore who won in only eight councils in the state.

However, Omisore in a protest letter personally signed by him and addressed to the State Resident Electoral Commissioner, the PDP candidate alleged that contrary to the results being circulated around by the APC, he was actually leading in the poll.

The letter reads in part: “I hereby condemn the APC candidate, Raufu Aregbesola declaring his own version of the results without recourse to INEC. With the facts of the results, its apparent that the PDP candidate, Dr. Iyiola Omisore is leading.

“This act of APC is in conflict with the provisions of Electoral Law 2010 whereby a candidate can concocts figures and released to confuse the public thus make this election inconclusive until facts behind the figures are released by the INEC.

“The peace and stability of this state is such under an unprecedented threat. The results so far by APC remained cancelled.”

But Professor Bamitale Omole gave the results breakdown as follows:

Ifedayo LGA:

AD-23, APC: 4225, LP: 17, PDP: 3982, SDP:1

Boluwaduro LGA

AD: 35, APC: 4891, LP 0, PDP: 5035, SDP: 2

Ilesha East LGA

AD: 110, APC:16, 106, LP: 44, PDP: 5913, SDP: 8

Odo-Otin LGA

AD: 58, APC: 11, 950, LP: 518, PDP: 12, 902, SDP: 13

Ilesha West LGA

AD: 95, APC: 15, 427, LP: 32, PDP: 5, 449, SDP: 17

Boripe LGA

AD: 74, APC: 12, 723, LP: 249, PDP: 9344

Orolu LGA

AD: 44, APC: 8, 558, LP: 440, PDP: 6, 786, SDP: 4

Oriade LGA

AD: 98, APC: 12, 532, PDP: 10, 214, SDP: 23

Atakumosa West LGA

AD: 43, APC: 6, 928, LP: 76, PDP: 5, 142, SDP: 10

Ede South LGA

AD: 50, APC: 11, 738, LP: 46, PDP: 7462, SDP: 11

Ila Orangun LGA

AD: 54, APC: 10, 825, LP: 43, PDP: 7916, SDP: 3

Irepodun LGA

AD: 45, APC: 13, 314, LP: 343, PDP: 7386, SDP: 3

Ife Central LGA

AD: 71, APC: 9, 680, LP: 102, PDP: 24,555

Ife East LGA

AD: 71, APC: 13, 821, LP: 297, PDP: 20, 831, SDP: 96

Olaoluwa LGA

AD: 25, APC: 7, 927, LP: 2476, PDP: 4, 963

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker