Osun Tribunal: Omisore Evidence Reflects How Aregbesola Won

The result of the August 9 governorship election on polling unit basis (forms EC8A), tendered by the the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) candidate, Senator Iyiola Omisore before the Osun State Election Petition Tribunal has confirmed how Governor Rauf Aregbesola won the election.

The Justice Elizabeth Ikpejime-led Election Petition Tribunal admitted in evidence the Certified True Copies (CTC) of EC8A, as announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Omisore and the PDP are challenging the re-election of Aregbesola and All Progressive Congress (APC) before the tribunal, while the INEC is joined as the third respondent.

The legal team of the petitioners and the respondents have earlier verified the documents used in the 17 local governments being challenged by the petitioners and agreed that they should be tendered from the bar.

The local governments are: Osogbo, Olorunda, Ede North, Ede South, Ejigbo, Ifelodun, Ilesa East, Ilesa West, Irewole, Iwo, Obokun, Irepodun, Atakumosa East, Ayedaade, Boripe, Ola-Oluwa and Oriade local governments.

At the resumed hearing of the petition on Wednesday, 12th November, 2014, the petitioners’ counsel, Dr Alex Izinyon (SAN) tendered the form EC8As from the bar.

The forms are exactly the same thing as the ones announced by INEC and jointly inspected by all the parties in the matter.

Counsel to the first respondent, Chief Akin Olujinmi (SAN) said he would reserve his objection to the admissibility of the document till the final address stage.

Counsel to the APC, Kemi Pinheiro (SAN) and his INEC counterpart, Ayotunde Ogunleye toed the same line of argument, indicating to reserve their objections till the address stage.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker