Oyetola Wins Osun APC Gov Ticket

The Chief of Staff to the Osun State Governor, Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola, has won the All Progressives Congress governorship ticket.

Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, who acted as the Chairman of the APC Governorship Primary Election Panel, announced the result of the election on Friday night.

Oyetola, who is from Iragbiji, Boripe Local Government Area,  in the Osun Central Senatorial District won the highest number of votes in the primary .

He polled 127,017 votes to defeat the Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr. Lasun Yusuf; the Speaker of the Osun State House of Assembly, Dr. Najeem Salam; Mr. Kunle Adegoke; Mr. Saka Layonu (SAN), and other contestants.

The Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives came second with 21,975 votes while the Speaker of the House of Assembly came third with 17,958.

Some of the governorship aspirants had announced their withdrawal from the race shortly before the exercise started.

Their withdrawal came as the party went ahead with the direct primary method where supporters queued behind the agents of their preferred aspirants after which the Chief of Staff to the Osun State Governor, Oyetola, took an early lead.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker