Parliamentary System Is The Best For Nigeria – Aregbesola

By Timothy Agbor, Osogbo

Osun State Governor, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola on Friday, 7th August, 2015 said it would do Nigeria good should it drop presidential system of government for the parliamentary system.

Aregbesola made this known while speaking during a special sitting of the Osun State House of Assembly to mark the 50th birthday of the Speaker, Hon. Najeem Salaam.

Governor Aregbesola stressed that the country may continue to face crisis and wallow in economic challenges if it continues to practice the presidential system of government.

The governor who described the state legislators as watchdogs and guardians to the executives said their roles in the nation building could not be underrated.

According to Aregbesola, executives should be accountable to the legislature and also derive its legitimacy from the legislature saying it would propel development for the country.

He said: “parliamentary system of governance is the best form of government for active development in the developing country. Nigeria may not get it right if it continues with this presidential system of government.

The apparently elated governor commended the state Assembly for its role in the petition written to the House by a serving judge in the state, Justice Folahanmi Oloyede accusing him of graft saying he would not comment further on the dismissed petition.

The governor said the State House of Assembly has always been supporting him in carrying out his projects by constantly check-mating his activities since the inception of his administration in 2010.

While congratulating the Speaker for attaining the golden age, Aregbesola described  Salaam as a humble and integrity-personified person advising him to jealously guide his good name.

Earlier, members of the Assembly had showered encomiums on the speaker describing him as a ‘legislative jagaban’.

Speaking, Salaam expressed happiness for attaining the new age saying the Assembly would continue to support the present administration to achieve its goals.

Among dignatries at the sitting which was presided by the Deputy Speaker, Mr. Akintunde Adegboye are the Speakers of Oyo and Ogun states Houses of Assembly, Adeshina Adeyemo and Surajudeen Adekunbi respectively.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker