Professional Bodies Honour Yaba Council Boss

By Omogbolahan Adisa

In recognition of his outstanding performance and selfless service to humanity, the Lagos State chapter of the Association of Professional Bodies of Nigeria (APBN), has honoured the Chairman of Yaba Local Council Development Area (LCDA), Hon. Jide Jimoh.

The award was presented to him by APBN during its 1st Annual Public Lecture titled; “The Role of Professionals in Nation Building” which took place at the Muson Centre, Onikan Lagos, southwest Nigeria.

Speaking shortly after receiving the award, Hon. Jimoh said that the award was a challenge for him to do more advising others to always ensure good governance.

“I dedicate this award to the people of Yaba because it is a challenge to me. When I came on board to serve my people, one thing that gladdens my heart was that I have been able to achieve much for the people. One of them is recognition of the elderly people from age 70 and above, I give them N10,000 per month, and this amounts to N12 million in a year and N36 million in three years. This has been constant since the advent of our administration and it can never change,” he said

He stated further that, “the establishment of Yaba Fire Marshal, which has never happened in the history of any local government or LCDA in Nigeria, is a project people constantly refer to. Now we are having Yaba Local Council Fire Service aside Lagos State Fire Service and Federal Fire Service. Officers of the fire service were fully recruited, trained and financed by the council”.

Jimoh in his earlier statement, urged professional bodies in Nigeria to support government by working hand in hand with whoever is at the helms of affairs to achieve national development.

“It is not possible for any government to run successfully without the involvement of professional bodies. So, they must support the government to achieve development because professional bodies cannot run in isolation for that is a way of good government and governance”, he said

Among the awardees are the state Commissioner Ministry for Physical Planning and Urban Development, TPL. Olutoyin Adedamola Ayinde;  Bashorun J.K Randle; and Chaiman of Ajeromi-Ifelodun Local Government, Hon. Kamal Bayewu.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker