Senator Abiru Gives COVID-19 Succour To Constituents, 2000 People Benefit


The Senator representing Lagos East Senatorial District at the National Assembly, Senator Mukhail Adetokunbo Abiru, has made true his campaign promise to offer relief to his constituents who are in dire economic straits, occassioned by the global Covid-19 pandemic, with the official launch of the Senator Tokunbo Abiru Covid-19 Financial Assistance programme.
The programme held at his constituency office in Ikorodu accommodates the most vulnerable strata of human demography like the aged, widows, physically challenged, women and unemployed youths, cutting across the 96 wards and 16 local governmentd/local council development areas within Lagos East Senatorial District.
Although he is new at the Red Chamber, Senator Abiru’s sense of urgency, aimed at providing legislative dividends of democracy to the electorate made him hit the ground running without undue hesitation.
Ten beneficiaries were selected from each ward within the Senatorial District, using verifiable and reliable grassroots channels like Christian Association of Nigeria (CAN), League of Imams and traditional rulers as point of contact for selecting beneficiaries.
Over 2000 residents of Lagos East Senatorial District have been captured in the continuous bi-monthly financial assistance which is in its third stream.
Aside the Covid-19 financial assistance programme, Senator Abiru has within the short time spent in office, has donated 150,000 facemasks to primary schools domiciled within Lagos East Senatorial District in collaboration with the Lagos State Universal Basic Education Board (SUBEB).
To bring governance closer to the people and deploy a faster and effective way of reaching out to his constituents, Senator Abiru opened liaison offices in all the local governments that make-up Lagos East Senatorial District – Epe, Ibeju-Lekki, Somolu and Kosofe; while Ikorodu will serve as the main constituency office.
Present at the programme were: Honourable Seye Oladejo, Publicity Secretary, Caretaker Committee of Lagos State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who represented the Chairman, Caretaker Committee of Lagos APC, Alhaji Tunde Balogun; Governance Advisory Council (GAC) members: Prince Abiodun Ogunleye, former Deputy Governor of Lagos State, Alhaji Shakiru Seriki (BAM), Chief Olorunfunmi Bashorun, Senator Anthony Adefuye and Omoba Olumuyiwa Shosanya; Lagos APC chieftains like: Chief Bode Oyedele and Asipa Kaoli Olusanya; House of Representatives members: Babajimi Benson, Ikorodu Constituency, and Rotimi Agunsoye, Kosofe Constituency. Also in attendance were council chairmen: Kolade Alabi, Bariga LCDA; Mayor Dele Oshinowo, Agboyi-Ketu LCDA; Mayokun Daini, Igbogbo-Baiyeku LCDA; and Ahmed Sallahu Dullar, Somolu Local Government.

Related Articles

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker